Audio Made Easy

Audio Made Easy Podcast

I’ve just concluded my first podcast, and it was truly one of the most freeing and liberating experiences I’ve ever had. I felt at ease the entire time and had so much to say that I literally had to force myself to stop talking.

I’ve tapped into a new and exciting world of media that I had no knowledge of prior to taking the Teaching Multimedia course at Kent State University. This is yet another example of how the JMC masters program is a valuable resource of professional development for journalism educators.

I will admit that I was intimated by the thought of doing anything related to audio or editing audio prior to this project. However, once I familiarized myself with the software, it was smooth sailing. I simply prepared a script, recorded my audio to an MP3 file and uploaded my file to a podcast hosting site. Voila! Within minutes, my commentary was published and available for listeners to enjoy.

The best part of my podcast experience thus far is that creating a show doesn’t require expert experience and learning what equipment and applications to use is an easy process.  Here are a few helpful tips on creating a podcast for novice advisers:

Step One: Prepare a script.  I don’t recommend total improvisation during a podcast. Preparing a script is the best way to ensure that your message is clear and consistent. Preparation is key to hosting a successful session. I feel having a script helped me with my level of confidence and overall presentation of my broadcast.

Step Two: Choose the best software to suite your equipment and record your podcast.  I chose Audacity to record my audio. I found it to be user friendly and the best part is, it’s free. I also downloaded the LAME MP3 recorder to convert my audio to MP3 format. Both applications worked seamlessly to convert my files in seconds. With Audacity, I used my computer to record which is a bonus since I don’t have recording equipment.

Visit, How to Add a Killer Podcast to Your Blog for additional tips on recording a podcast and uploading it to your blog.

Step Three: Upload your podcast to a hosting site. I found PodBean to be simple and user friendly. Check out the top 50 podcast directories to see what’s out there.

Step Four: Post the podcast to your blog. I use WordPress and the process to upload from Podbean was easy. Your podcast hosting site should provide details on how to upload to Blogger or WordPress.

Needless to say, I am a now fan of podcasting. Stay tuned for more podcasts from the Novice Journalism Adviser.

Leave a Reply

